And Today… I Sketch

19 Sep

Play now…

There’s this really beautiful moment I experience a couple times a year. It’s almost like my stars align and I can see my life…my immediate road ahead, very clearly. Perhaps my imagination has a field day but for this moment my mind’s capacity is filled with visions of what will be. Almost like several light bulbs going off at the same exact time.  I visualize a complete collection…it’s like I can see each model standing in each garment lined at the top of the stage. Last year I literally tried to translate that moment in real life…

(that was a college fashion show btw)

But I know exactly what to sketch when I grab my pad. I know every fabric I want to use and for the first several sketches I don’t even have to look at the page because my imagination has taken over all of my motor skills and my hand is just moving.  The rest is always done in the fabric store.

But also, in that moment I am inspired. I can see every shoot I want to have with The Boston Bazaar…every interview I want done, every story I want to read…

I can see a new character for a story…like we’re meeting for the first time…like he/she is inviting me to take a journey with them.  People often ask me how I come up with some of the stories I write but I can never put my finger on it.  I never plan a story to come…it just does.

The story I’m working on now – now has an ending. I’ve seen it. I can practically see a collection hanging on my clothing rack…I can see the pages of the lookbook... I can hear the music that will play at the shoot… I can feel the warm embrace of the handshake of my first significant interview…my eyes burn from the flash of the camera from the first shot of my shoot… I can smell the breakfast that I’ll eat on a day that I dread…I can taste the tears of discouragement…I can feel my mother’s embrace and practically hear her words…I can feel the fleeting in my stomach as I realize how far I’ve come… I can feel the isolation that awaits me…the joy that has been written for me… the obstacles that will fall upon me and I’m scared…hell, I’m tired just thinking about it but these moments come only so often so you have to take them as what they are…INSPIRATION.

Word.

 

 

Leave a Reply

